Print Books

This section contains all of the books that appeared in print, versus inside the games. All of the transcripts and artwork on this page are published with the exclusive permission of Bethesda Softworks, Bethesda Game Studios, and/or Zenimax Online, and should not be re-published without their permission.

Pocket Guides

Pocket Guide to the Empire, First Edition - Released in the The Elder Scrolls Adventures: Redguard manual in 1998, it served as the first overview of Tamriel in its entirety. Commonly called the PGE1, this text has a strong pro-Imperial bias and is annotated by an Altmer named Y.R.

Pocket Guide to the Empire, Third Edition - Released as part of the The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion Collector's Edition in 2004. Briefly covers the world and its history, the history of each province, as well as current events.

Emperor's Guide to Tamriel - Released in the Imperial Edition of The Elder Scrolls Online in 2014. Follows the scribe Flaccus Torentius as he travels through Tamriel, and beyond.


These two novels were written by Greg Keys. They take place in the early 4th era and follow the events surrounding the arrival of Umbriel, a floating city that turns everyone below it into mind-controlled zombies.

The below pages archive lore-relevant quotes and notes from both books.

The Infernal City - Released in 2009. Notes taken from the print edition.

Lord of Souls - Released in 2011. Notes taken from the e-book edition.

Hero's Guide to The Elder Scrolls Online

The books in this series were released as special edition items alongside Elder Scrolls Online in 2014. They were limited to a print run of 10,000 copies.

Agents and Reagents - An apprentice alchemist's journal cataloging various ingredients.

Gathering Force - Arms and Armor of the various cultures of Tamriel, as catalogued by a steward of the Fighters Guild.

Kyne's Challenge - A group of huntsmen seeks to find, and kill, one of every type of creature in Tamriel.

Other Books

The Origin of Cyrus - Released in the manual for Elder Scrolls Adventures: Redguard in 1998, this comic tells the backstory of the game's protagonist, Cyrus.

Naryu's Journal - Released with the The Elder Scrolls Online: Morrowind Collectors Edition in 2017, this book has Naryu documenting a series of assassinations that take her through the lands added to ESO between its initial release and the Morrowind chapter.

The Alinor Codex - Released with the The Elder Scrolls Online: Summerset Collectors Edition in 2018, this is Razum-dar's report to the Proxy Queen.

The following three books also feature some lore-relevant information, but we do no have them archived yet.

  • The Official Cookbook
  • The Official Survival Guide to Tamriel
  • Skyrim Tarot Deck and Guidebook
Scroll to Top